*new* *old* *me* *rings* *email* *host* *you* *notes* *best*
*interview* *tests*


*a mild version of my duplicitous nature. 2001-09-24 11:48 a.m.*

last year i kept 2 different journals online, the standard "secret journal" and then one specifically about my travels that i wrote for my mom and friends, etc. i didn't write anything on the 24th, but this is what i wrote in the public journal on the 27th.

27.9.00

is it just me or has this month just zoomed past? i'm still writing "august" on things. crazy world.

i've been having adventures and adventures and adventures and mishaps.

saturday night i decided to do a load of laundry, so i did a load and then put it in the dryer and went to bed. when i woke up in the morning although it had been set for 80 minutes, all the clothes were still wet. so, i did another load and restarted the other load in the dryer. i did the dishes and half-listened to "hey arnold" on the tv. i kind of spaced out though, and suddenly i realized that everything had gone very quiet. it turned out that every electrical appliance in the house except for one lamp were off. i kind of flipped out, because i was worried i had killed some appliances or set something on fire or done something else very very expensive, so i called mom and panicked at her for awhile. finally, i felt brave enough to call jonathan's mobile, but it turned out it was switched off, so i decided to ask a neighbor for help. i'd never talked to any of my neighbors, though, so this was a little forbidding, especially since i had run out of most of my decent clothes, which was why i was doing laundry in the first place. but the man who parks his station wagon in front of the house a lot was out there getting something from the truck so i asked him for help and he came in and showed me where the circuit breaker was, switched it on, and all was well. i'd looked all over the house and outside for the fuse box/ circuit breaker, but i didn't think to look up, which is where it was, in a corner of the first room you go into when you enter the house. anyway, even though the house smelled electrical and smokey for a good long time, all was basically well.

so, i went to peterborough early to escape my room that had turned into a glorified clothesline to the point that i had nowhere to sit. the cybercafe there is closed on sundays, so i just sort of wandered. i ate curry, but it just wasn't like mussaman curry, which i haven't been able to find around here. i have to go for thai food first thing when i get home. that and taco bell!

anyway, faith met me at the bus station and we went down to the pub where they had karaoke night and i wound up singing, because i couldn't help it really. and we had a great deal of fun. the cab she'd called never came, so the guys who run the karaoke company called us a different cab. they kept telling me about how they would trade me the karaoke equipment for my ticket back to florida, and it was all very friendly and funny... and cold, because we were waiting outside. finally we made it home, and i got to sleep around 2, to wake up at 7, so i could catch the bus into cambridge.

i went to the testing for the last time, but it was a lot shorter than the other times, so less money. *sniffles* but they said that they will probably have a thing or two again before i leave for home and they'll call me about those.

i went to the volunteer center to see if there was anything that looked interesting, because i'm still looking for things to do sometimes, and there are a few places that i might look into. and then i went to my class on pos. thinking and meditation. i really like the class. some things i don't entirely agree with, but they are interesting to think about.

clare and i took a taxi to her house and she fed me and i met one of her housemates. we went to bed fairly early, because we were both pretty exhausted. i woke up in the middle of the night to the sounds of one of her other housemates having a drunken argument with his girlfriend. that was fun. but i finally fell asleep again, and i think i slept pretty well, all in all.

so, since i was feeling rather awake, and was in cambridge earlier than i usually am, i decided to take the bus into london, since i hadn't been yet. i went to the tate gallery, which was really exciting because it had some of my favorite pre-raphaelite paintings, including j.w.waterhouse's "lady of shallott." i splurged and bought the pen they had of the painting. if you tip it, she floats down the river. i think it's great! i also went to westminster abbey, so now i can say i've been there. i wandered around a bit more and then took the bus back to cambridge, and then back to chatteris. i'm glad the busses here are less scary than greyhounds.

and this is what i wrote about in the secret journal:

maybe or I'm not sure (9-27-00)

so, i made up my mind that i would break up with faith the next time i saw her (which would be sunday). except when i did see her, it just didn't happen. in fact we had an incredibly great time. so, yeah. i don't know, now. i'm still not in love with her, and i honestly don't think i ever will be, but i really like her, and i like the time we spend together. even if she does crack me up by pointing to a map of south america and asking me where i lived.

i've been adventuring around, it's been fun, but i just wish i had more money. it's scary to think about how broke i might wind up being. i just want to see it all, and taste it all, and experience it all, but so much of it all costs so much of my money. and i'm still so in love with this country. i wish i could absorb it into my skin.

Downtown we'll drown

We're in our never splendor

Flowers, showers

Who's got the new boy gender

I'll be your baby, I'll be your score

I'll run the gun for you and so much more

I'll tumble 4 ya

I'll tumble 4 ya

I'll tumble 4 ya

I'll tumble 4 you

I'll tumble 4 ya

I'll tumble 4 ya

I'll tumble 4 ya

I'll tumble

Uptown their sound

It's like the native you send her

Junction, function

The boy with pop is slender

Did he say maybe or I'm not sure

He'll be a boy for you but you need more

"I'll Tumble 4 Ya" by Culture Club

*listening to: *
<<< | >>>


*<<<<<* *<<* *<* | *>* *>>* *>>>>>*
*random* *list*